Starter gear spring / leaf spring ?

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

tr197

Starter gear spring / leaf spring ?

Postby tr197 » Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:26 pm

Newbie here, hope someone can help me. I have a 1964 250 scrambler that needs a new spring that pushes on the gear that turns the crank. It is kind of shaped like a Y and I was given a part # of 0400.07.183, checking with a Ducati dealer they called it a leaf spring ? Could that be it ? any help would be great, thanks.

tr197

Re: Starter gear spring / leaf spring ?

Postby tr197 » Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:27 pm

O.K. someone just told me it's called a spring plate, :?

JimF
Site Admin

Postby JimF » Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:52 am

Not to high-jack this post, but there is an eBay seller in Spain that has what seems to be a bunch of kick-start return springs for sale (I am thinking they are 0603.07.010.)

Item number: 150378945735

I couldn't find the part number you listed in my parts book after a brief search, but its not like I would have one anyway. Maybe Henry Hogben in Cananda, or Road and Race in Australia.

Jim

captpaul

Postby captpaul » Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:38 am

I just looked in my parts book and your #0400.07.183 is the y shaped spring you need.

DewCatTea-Bob

Postby DewCatTea-Bob » Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:24 am

"I have a 1964 250 scrambler that needs a new spring that pushes on the gear"

____WELL NEW FRIEND, it seems that you have not read through this fairly new web-site completely before posting on this subject... Otherwise you might now be asking me for further details, after reading my first posting on this subject, concerning Jim's 250 Mach-1 kickstart-lever slippage problem.