Fiberglass Tank sealant what do I use

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

Thevin

Fiberglass Tank sealant what do I use

Postby Thevin » Mon May 31, 2010 5:32 pm

As title says I would like to seal the tank, it is New Old Stock, never had a drop of fuel in it, what do I use?
I've heard you don't need to seal it but i would at least like to leave fuel in it for a couple of months instead of draining it all the fuel.

Eldert

Re: Fiberglass Tank sealant what do I use

Postby Eldert » Mon May 31, 2010 9:38 pm

i would use a tank coating for sure . the fuel nowadays has lots of bio ethanol in it and this eats the fiberglass.
even tank coatings have a hard time coping with the modern fuel .
the only coating that will do the trick is Caswell phenol novolac .
i have no experience with this product myself as they dont ship overseas . i have to go to the european importer in the UK

Eldert

DewCatTea-Bob

Postby DewCatTea-Bob » Mon May 31, 2010 10:34 pm

" the only coating that will do the trick is Caswell phenol novolac .
i have no experience with this product myself "

____ It's always nice to see any such posts of information from you Eldert !
Too bad that you can't confirm that you've tried & like that stuff, however !
__ Here follow's three links for all who may be interested.....

http://www.caswellplating.com/aids/epoxygas.htm

http://www.amazon.com/Caswell-Gas-Tank- ... B001PLM5TC

http://www.caswelleurope.co.uk/gastank.htm

Hope at least one of these links help ya Thevin ! _ (But I'd check prices on eBay for such, before making any purchase.)
____ How about a larger pic of that tank on your DUKE, than that tiny one which you have posted above?

Hopeful-Cheers,
-Bob