UB24 Adjustments

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

gregwils

UB24 Adjustments

Postby gregwils » Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:06 pm

I am still pretty new to the vintage motorcycle scene even though I now have two old ducs.

I purchased a 65 250 Monza a number of months ago. It sat in the garage for a few months and just got it started this weekend. The exhaust appears to be pretty rich or it has a penchant for oil. I have been going through various threads here and any documentation I could find, but am not 100% certain which of the screws is the idle speed screw and which is the idle mixture screw. I believe the mixture screw is on the left and the idle screw is on the right. Is there a simple way to tune or just follow the instructions here?

http://www.ducatimeccanica.com/dellorto_guide/dellorto_3_4.html

Also, the slide on the carb seems to get hung up - meaning you open the throttle and it doesn't want to return to it's off/closed position. Is that common? Would that be a tired spring or could there be corrosion inside the carb body. I did the unthinkable and added a drop or two of earl down the throttle cable and it did improve temporarily?

PS - There will likely be a sucking sound associated with my posts, but I promise to give back as my knowledge increases. I have an old Porsche and recently crossed the 1,000 post milestone. 250 and car below, Monza Jr in front of the car - engine out.

Greg W
1965 Ducati Monza
1966 Ducati Monza (Project)
1966 Ducati Monza Jr
1986 Porsche 911 Carrera
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Jordan

Re: UB24 Adjustments

Postby Jordan » Mon Jul 07, 2014 12:07 am

Hex screw with locknut is throttle stop, which sets idle speed.
The one upstream of that is an air screw, to adjust mixture.