Valve stem drilling

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

single-junk

Valve stem drilling

Postby single-junk » Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:53 am

Anyone ever have to drill out valve stem holes before?

The borrani style rims I have bought came without them, so I'm just looking for tips/tricks, sizing, etc.

Thanks

DewCatTea-Bob

Re: Valve stem drilling

Postby DewCatTea-Bob » Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:16 pm

[quote= single-junk ...
" Anyone ever have to drill out valve stem holes before? "

____ Yes but, hardly ever,, so I'm no expert at it !
__ Drilling against the rim from the tire-side (and towards the axle-location), I first used just a 1/8th-inch drill-bit (so that I could better keep my chosen hole location while starting my drill-hole). _ Then next followed-through with a 3/16ths-bit,, and finally followed-up by a tapered ream-bit, so as to finally enlarge the hole-diameter out-to slightly larger than an inner-tube's valve-stem.

Hopeful-Cheers,
-Bob
PLEASE NOTE... If this-post is not-yet signed-off with '-Bob', then I'm still in the process of completing it,, and if not also included with 'DCT' near bottom as well, then I may edit this post's wording at a later time. - Dct.Bob

Nick

Postby Nick » Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:34 am

Obviously, choose a spot where the spokes are diverging, not converging, then put a chamfer on each side. I also prefer a larger than needed hole to help preclude the valve stem from being torn out if the tire slips a bit on the rim. I also never tighten the valve stem nut (or I leave it off altogether) for the same reason.
Put a Mikuni on it!

single-junk

Postby single-junk » Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:26 pm

Thanks guys, just what I needed.

I am to assume that these rims generally run tubed tires?

Nick

Postby Nick » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:43 pm