Scrambler to Silver Shotgun Or Yellow Desmo Conversion?

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

TedsDucs

Scrambler to Silver Shotgun Or Yellow Desmo Conversion?

Postby TedsDucs » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:04 pm

I'm sure somebody here has done this. I have a line on a 67 250 Scrambler, all there, for a reasonable price. How hard is it to do a (not correct, but visually nice) conversion to a Silver Shotgun, or Yellow Desmo replica? Any insurmountable obstacles? Can I just put an aftermarket seat, tank, and rearsets and have it come out decent, or are there dimensional/frame problems?

I'm a competent mechanic, but will have to outsource stuff like welding....Not trying to make a perfect copy, just a cool conversion.

Thanks for any info,

Ted

TedsDucs

Jordan

Re: Scrambler to Silver Shotgun Or Yellow Desmo Conversion?

Postby Jordan » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:38 pm

Changes will be needed to frame (esp. rear loop), rear mudguard mounting holes, seat mounts (lugs welded).
Shorter forks or it won't look right, and shorter centre stand.
Mine has an hydraulic steering damper (alas) as I think the steering geometry might have upset the roadholding - threw me off with a tankslapper once. Alright now.

Jordan

cooperplace

Postby cooperplace » Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:29 am

Jordan wrote: I think the steering geometry might have upset the roadholding - threw me off with a tankslapper once. Alright now.

Jordan

wow, scary. Would you care to elaborate on what brought this on? It's something we all want to avoid. Hope you weren't hurt.
be nice, I'm not very bright.

Jordan

Postby Jordan » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:33 am