1967 Monza 250 restoration

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

MC916

1967 Monza 250 restoration

Postby MC916 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:46 pm

Hi,
I am new to the form and I hope you guys can give tips and advice as I start to restore my 1967 Monza 250. I plan to get it mechanically sound before I take it apart for sand blasting and paint. I hope to keep it as stock as posable but with a few changes to make it safer to ride.

Nick

Re: 1967 Monza 250 restoration

Postby Nick » Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:31 am

Congratulations on a great find! That's a really nice bike you got there. I rode a 250 that looked just like yours for daily transportation for years, and loved it!

Looks like it would clean up very nicely without going to the trouble and expense of a full restoration. Just strip and paint the fenders and side cover, The rims you could simply powdercoat black or, if you have your own paint gear, paint them with a chip-resistant black. New spokes would be nice, of course, but those could also be painted or cad plated. (The spokes are probably rusted to the nipples. However, if you put a few drops of Liquid Wrench or other lubricant into each nipple and let it sit for a few days you may be able to unscrew them. Also, if you plan to ride the bike regularly, take off that stock carb, and replace it with a more modern carb (Mikuni, Amal, etc.).
Put the stock carb in a plastic bag and stash it somewhere — you'll want it when your reach that stage in life when tinkering with your bike brings you more enjoyment than riding it.

Change the oil right away, then do so again after the first few miles, then at 1,500mi intervals.

And remember, patina is where it's at! It's the one thing you can't buy and that gives you and your bike street cred!
Put a Mikuni on it!

MC916

Postby MC916 » Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:06 am

Thanks,