Just been given a 450 Silver shotgun...but its yellow

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

450 shotgun

Just been given a 450 Silver shotgun...but its yellow

Postby 450 shotgun » Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:46 am

Hi all
I just arrived home after a bit of a trip up to a farm to pick up these two lovely Ducs
A gift from my inlaws that I am massively grateful for. These bikes have been in the family for years and the gun belonged to my father in law. I have never done a resto on a ducati before so I have lots to learn. First Cab of the rank will be the the 450. Planning on getting it as close to original as possible so I will need to create a shopping list that will include carb, intake stub, side covers, headlight and speedo, tacho and the list goes on....and on....and on! Yes I know the colour is all wrong but that will be one of the last thinngs to be done. Apparently my father in law preferred Ducati yellow so he had it painted in the late 70s. I am expecting a build time of a couple of years to get it right.
Anyway I will be lurking around asking questions and picking brains for the foreseeable future.
First question is where is the best place to look for shotgun parts?
Cheers
Damo
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

graeme

Re: Just been given a 450 Silver shotgun...but its yellow

Postby graeme » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:34 am

Hello Damo,

Nice project and at the right price too!

Where in the world are you?

You have a few things that aren't correct for a Shotgun, and many more you will find.
These things are a gem once they are sorted properly.
Some of the things you listed are very hard to get for love or money, like a headlight as an example.
I have 2 Shotgun front guards that I'm not using in the near future, pm me. Yours looks like a '73/'74 yellow bike guard.