Selector box

Ducati single cylinder motorcycle questions and discussions, all models. Ducati single cylinder motorcycle-related content only! Email subscription available.
Moderator: Morpheus

Moderator: ajleone

Chuck

Selector box

Postby Chuck » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:50 pm

I just purchased a 1966 Ducati Monza because i need something smaller to ride. I have many years of experience with British singles and twins and this is my first little Ducati. I read the helpful information about shifting technique and I have been doing a modified version of this for years with the British bikes, especially getting into 1st with my Velocette. My problem is that the shifting peddle does not return to a central (horizontal) position after I shift. To make the shifts I have to carefully move the peddle with my foot into the horizontal position so the claws will push the shifting pegs to the next gear. I bought a new spring and I think I installed it correctly, all the books I bought have no useful information or pictures, but it seems there is only one way to put all the pieces together and get the cover closed. The peddle moves easily but it has no spring tension to return it to a level position. Can anyone help me?

DewCatTea-Bob

Possible Selector-box / Return-spring Issues

Postby DewCatTea-Bob » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:23 pm